FRESH PRESSED:

The KnightCap: Core DJ Retreat X (Atlanta, GA)

Core DJ Retreat X Media Check-In

I know that this re-cap is WAY OVER DUE but I have to give you all the skinny on the Core DJ’s Retreat X that took place April 24-27 in Atlanta.

First all, big ups to those that worked behind the scenes for the event that weekend. People rarely give shine to those that actually keep shit in tact and organize all the controlled chaos that you see when in attendance. PLUS, the staff was ALL FEMALE and we got along without so much as a cat fight the entire weekend. So to all of the people working registration, handling bags, passing out itineraries and CD’s, organizing media and press junkets and interviews and most importantly the DJ’s that supported the event, THANK YOU!

First up, the hotel was nuts! I really don’t think that anyone on the staff did their research when agreeing to host this conference. I mean, no offense to my Core DJ’s but y’all know how we get down when we go out of town…we travel DEEP and NEVER SLEEP!

I can ramble on and on but I know you just want to get to the meat and potatoes.

I finally got a chance to meet Ms. Nicki Minaj herself and I can say that I was very relieved that she wasn’t a “typical artist” when it came down to meeting her fans. Dressed in black tights, a tee that read “I’m fun size” and some bad ass  pink Report Signature Ankle Cuff Sandals. Although they only gave her approx. 5 minutes to perform, she still held it down for the ladies and had an awesome attitude to all her fans (Ms. Keri Baby, take note).

Check below for video footage. Disregard the overzealous chick yelling the the background. Her fans were hype!

To conclude the weekend, everyone was looking forward to the Guy/Blackstreet reunion at the Jam Master Jay Award Show on Sunday. Niccas just knew Aaron Hall was going to show up and show out but the latter happened.

There were live performances and appearances from Syleena Johnson, Pastor Troy (P.T. we need you!), a brief snippet by Bonecrusher and Khujo Goodie, and then the finale.

I had a TON of other videos that I catptured on my BlackBerry but the video quality is WHACK so I won’t put you through that. Overall, good event. Good trip. Good people (hellos to my new ATL family: Lola, Tai, Olamide, Gyant,  D-Rocc, Tanza, Steven, the entire BlazinStreetz.com and Street Report Magazine staff and all the DJ’s and artist that showed Tuesday Knight love). Thank you’s go to the Core DJ’s for having a nicca apart of the team!

For more photos, video footage and interviews from the Core DJ’s Retreat X, please visit http://www.coredjs.com and tell them I sent you!

Truly,

TK

Leave a Reply

