FRESH PRESSED:

I still don’t believe you…Mashonda x Alicia Keys (An open letter to both of you)

mashonda-swizz-aliciaFor those of you who were enjoying the various classics and football parties over the weekend, you may have not heard (or could have cared less) about the “twit-letter” that Mashonda, estranged and soon-to-be ex-wife of famed produced Swizz Beatz, produced and published to Alicia Keys, supposed mistress of the still married Swizz Beatz, via Twitter.

Just in case you didn’t see it, here’s a snippet:

After having a great evening with my son and enjoying some fun twit chat, I decided to sign off and get some work done. However, a few hours later I was advised that I should check @aliciakeys twit page. I’ve never reached out to her on twitter before. I feel our issues are a lot more serious than a website conversation. Not to mention that I’ve reached out to her many times in the beginning of this whole thing, as any wife would do. Unfortunately, I never succeeded in getting a response. The 1st time I meet AK, my husband introduced us to each other at an event. ( I have no choice but to call him my husband, until he is not anymore) In the messages that I sent to her (AK), I made it very clear that on the contrary of what she might be hearing, I am still married to my husband, living with him and just had a child. Its been two years and I still have not received a response. What I do receive, is constant displays of selfishness and disconcern to me and my son.

I was a fan of AK’s last album, we were both signed to J Records and I always checked up on her projects. I sang her songs and admired her for creating Superwoman and Karma, I would never deny her, her talent. I believed in her until I found out she was possibly sleeping with my husband. The affair was denied by both, until it was finally admitted months later.

Already I can hear some of you saying ” why are u blaming her, You cant make someone leave their wife, You cant break something thats broken”. Well, my marriage was not broken, as far as I knew we were celebrating our sons birth and getting ready to celebrate our 5 year wedding anniversary. Call it blind love, whatever. I call it being a devoted wife.. As far as me blaming her and not blaming him, thats false. Me and my husband have worked out our differences. We are in a good place as people and as parents. I accept his choices and I am comfortable enough with myself to move on. I am so very blessed in many ways.

My concern with AK is no longer the fact that she assisted in destroying a family but that she has the audacity to make these selfish comments about love and wanting to be with someone, even after knowing their situation. How is this the same Superwoman that I sang out loud with in my truck? I ask myself sometimes.

If you are reading this Alicia, let me start by saying, you know what you did. You know the role you played and you know how you contributed to the ending of my marriage. You know that I asked you to step back and let me handle my family issues. Issues that you helped to create.

To read the remainder of the lengthy message, head on over to the Rap-Up

The internet is going NUTS with baby mama drama (links are included below for others going through the offspring issues)! You can take whatever you want from the post but I decided that I was SICK & TIRED of women bullying each other and not taking responsibility for their actions. It’s obvious that both of these women are GORGEOUS and although the supply of successful, hubby-material men is very minimal, this is clearly a plea for help for Mashonda and should serve as a wake up call for AK. Shoot the messenger if you like but here goes.

Dear Mashonda & Alicia:

You are both two talented, beautiful, extremely blessed women with the opportunity to bless others through your lives. As a professional publicist and having studied and witnessed some of the best and worst moments in publicity and public relations, I have to openly pull your card Mashonda. This open letter that you published VIA TWITTER is draped up & dripped out in PR and spin whether you choose to admit it or not. And on top of that, it was petty and pointless. Woman to woman: VIRAL VICTIMIZATION IS NOT THE ROUTE! You are way too classy for these antics.

Despite your claims that “This is not a publicity stunt, I don’t have a record coming out. I just need to close this chapter in my life and that means confronting our issues”…..I beg to differ. Yes, the letter was very tasteful and mature. It showed that you are capable of being the bigger person and can have a logical conversation with the woman who is allegedly sleeping with your husband. But it also showed your naivety. It showed that you have not moved on and by consciously posting this open letter for the WORLD to witness. It shows that you are still human and not completely over your dilemma….which is understandable and to be expected.

As a fan of you, your husband and Alicia, this was something that A FAN should not have to see. Take a lesson from Beyonce and Hov. KEEP THE MEDIA OUT OF YOUR MARRIAGE! A phone call, mediation with lawyers or a visit to her crib would have meant leaps and bounds over this twitter travesty. I’m just saying.

Let me be clear. I know neither of you individually and can only report on the information given by my sources/resources. After first hearing about the scandal last year, I was at a loss of words. Like Mashonda, I JUST KNEW that woman who got me through at least two of my last relationships with songs like “Karma” and “A Woman’s Worth” wasn’t sleeping with someone else’s MARRIED husband. Not the same woman who lifted my chin in times of desperation, adversity and insecurity with songs like “Superwoman” and “Lesson Learned”. All in all, I couldn’t blame her nor could I judge. We are all human. And depending on what God you serve, it’s YOU that has to face your maker on judgment day, NOT I.

The one thing that I can’t leave out in this is the most important factor: Kasseem Jr. For his sake, you two have to get over this bitter, silent BUT deadly battle of the broads and think about the future of this beautiful young boy. He is totally innocent in this ordeal and SHOULD NOT have his daddy ruled out of his life because it didn’t work out with his parents. If you all have claimed to do everything you could to make it work and it still failed, then touche. But MOVE ON! People have marital problems, get divorced, cheat, sleep with married men and have babies everyday and somehow manage to make it work with less resources than you all. You may think that I am letting Swizz off the hook but I’m not. The truth is that he is obviously playing the both of you for fools and you’re going for it. It’s sad that the ladies have to be the “bigger man” majority of the time but it is what it is. Deal with the matters of this relationship behind closed doors please. I’m over seeing black women dragging each other through the mud over a man! And you two are no exception! I’m just saying….

Take it light,

Tuesday Knight

Other men struggling with baby mama drama:

Tony Neal of the Core DJ’s baby mama airs his dirty laundry. (POW)

Rick Ross is ordered to pay up by the courts (POW)

NAS and Kelis still heading towards Divorce court (POW)

3 Comments on I still don’t believe you…Mashonda x Alicia Keys (An open letter to both of you)

  1. Wow. Good points, Tuesday! 🙂 Nice blog. I likes, I likes.

    Like

  2. totally agree, i said the same thing when I read it. and i feel no matter what goes on if his father is good to him…..let him see his son, he need his father in his life, that other foolishness is for the adults to deal with….i do feel where she coming with the letter but its nobody’s business but the three of them. and she definitely hasn’t put this behind her like she said because she would not have taken the time to go to A.K. page and read her twits and then get angry about it and then post a letter for the world to be apart of.

    Like

  3. Very well written my friend!

    Like

Leave a Reply

