FRESH PRESSED:

For the record: How @LolitaFiles made my year…

sex.lies.murder.fame. by Lolita Files

If you haven’t connected the dots already, I’m a writer. That’s the only thing that I have been sure of since the age of 7. Growing up I was many things and many a names but a writer is one that I proudly tote on my left breast as a badge of honor.

The first urban fiction book that I ready by an African-American author was “Milk In My Coffee” by Eric Jerome Dickey. From the first indentation in the first paragraph I knew that I would soon beckon my calling for masterfully creating historic pieces that the masses would soon ingest. But I digress.

“Blind Ambitions” was my second read. The author, this chick I just imagined to be my interpretation of the Erykah Badu of my literary world, soon had be as a fan of her growing repertoire as well. But it was Reesy Snowden and Misty Fine in the page-turning “Tastes Like Chicken” and sequel “Getting to the Good Part” that sealed it for me. This is what I would do. I didn’t know when or even what I would write about but I knew I would write. And be damn good at it, too.

Fast forward to now. Socially, I love the whole Twitter and Facebook movement strictly for what it’s for…to connect, inform and be social. While most public figures use PR companies or personal assistants to run their social networking mill, I was pleased to find that not only did Ms. Files run her own space but also responds and interacts personally with all her friends…DAILY.

So, being who I am I add her as a friend. She accepts right a way.

“Cool”, I think. “Her people are on their shit!”

But when she also responded on my wall and continued a open, warm conversation with me through comments and wall posts, I was floored. Ten years plus after reading “Blind Ambitions” for the first time I was now chatting with the author. The fact that she was cooler than antifreeze was the added bonus.

Today she gave me something. Fire. Vision. Reason. And coochie.

I present to you all – The Coochie Cake.

Recipe included below picture.

Lo’s Infamously-Delicious Coochie (Cake)

Ingredients:

2¼ cups all-purpose flour
2 tsps baking powder
½ tsp salt
2 sticks softened butter
2 cups sugar
4 large eggs
2 tsps vanilla
1 cup buttermilk
¼ cup sour cream
¼ cup softened cream cheese
1 1.5oz package of vanilla instant pudding mix

Directions:

Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Grease and flour two 9” round pans.

Sift together the flour, baking powder, and salt and set aside.

In a separate bowl, cream butter on medium speed until fluffy. Add the sugar gradually, continuing to mix until butter and sugar are well-blended, light, and fluffy. Blend in vanilla. Add eggs, one at a time.

Add flour mixture to the egg/butter/sugar mixture gradually, alternately adding buttermilk. Add sour cream and cream cheese, continuing to blend after each. Add pudding mix last, blending in thoroughly. Once pudding is well-blended, increase speed, beating batter for about two minutes until it achieves a fluffy lightness.

Pour batter into prepared pans, filling two-thirds full. Bake 30-50 minutes, or until cake is golden brown and inserted toothpick comes out clean.

Let cakes cool for about 15 minutes before removing from pans. Let cool completely before frosting.

Cream Cheese Citrus Buttercream Frosting:

2½ cups confectioners sugar
1 stick softened butter
4 oz softened cream cheese
1 tsp vanilla
1½ tsps lemon juice (preferably fresh squeezed)
1½ tsps orange juice (preferably fresh squeezed)

Grated lemon and orange zest (to sprinkle on top of frosted cake)

Directions:

Cream butter on low speed, gradually adding confectioners sugar. Once butter and sugar are blended, increase speed one level and beat until smooth. Add cream cheese, blending in until smooth. Add vanilla. Add lemon juice and orange juice. Beat frosting until light, smooth, and a good spreading consistency. If frosting is not thick enough, gradually add more confectioners sugar until desired consistency is achieved. If frosting is too thick, add a few drops of milk, in very small increments, until desired consistency.

I declare today “Free Coochie Day!” Have a piece of coochie today for all!

Catch up with Lolita Files on the social scene with the links provided below. Show her new novel some love and don’t forget to tell her who sent ya!

Lolita’s Facebook  || Lolita’s Twitter  || Lolita’s Blog

And I quote: “Now you can all say I gave you some coochie.” – Lolita Files

1 Comment on For the record: How @LolitaFiles made my year…

  1. Ms. Cecil // July 15, 2011 at 10:35 AM //

    I very much enjoyed ur article and agree that Lolita is something else. She keeps me in stitches from laughing and I do appreciate that as busy as she is, she does take time to personally respond, which I think is toatlly awesome. Lolita, I’m gonna ask my sis, Susan (u met her at Warner) to try ur cake:):):):) Love u and thanks for being u!!!!!!!:):)

    Like

1 Trackback / Pingback

  1. Free Coochie Day!!! « The Lo Zone

Leave a Reply

