FRESH PRESSED:

iSUPPORT: Theresa “Tha Songbird” Wilson [@theresathabird]

You could feel the anticipation of her arrival building in the room as one by one, poets and comics and artist provided a welcoming energy for the night's feature. We "ooh-ed", snapped and "high five-d", laughed, listened and gasped. Before you knew it, she was here. It had to have been about 11:15 p.m.

FRESH OFF of what I am sure was a “less-than-desirable” Greyhound bus ride from Atlanta, GA to Mobile, AL, Theresa “Tha S.O.N.G.B.I.R.D.” did not disappoint her modestly anxious crowd. Having been my first time being introduced to Tha S.O.N.G.B.I.R.D. and her work, I went in with no expectations.

With a glass in hand, she greets the host and then politely puts the mic down on a table in front of her.

From the moment she released her vocals into the universe I was hooked. Enveloped. Hell, you could stamp and mail me as well.

This poet, singer, songwriter and entrepreneur hails from the South side of Chicago, IL but currently lays her locks in Atlanta, GA. Sharing the same poetic path as her sister, Tony, Emmy and Peabody Award winning poet Georgia Me, Tha Songbird blew my core to pieces. She deserves more than a few hand claps and online accolades. Please support her work and movement, which includes her custom jewelry line <—- hot shit! I’ve included a few videos for your indulgent pleasure. I’ll add the performance from last night’s “Neo Soul Sundays” at Legend’s Lounge shortly.

Huge thank you to Lady Tess for the hospitality and entertainment. Please support this Queen and her event each and every Sunday at Legend’s Lounge in Mobile, AL. Starts after nine. Kickback-type feel. R&B and soul music before and after the open mic.

“You’re only a “G” if your helping your community.” – Tha S.O.N.G.B.I.R.D

Peep and share.

Tha S.O.N.G.B.I.R.D. on Facebook | Tha S.O.N.G.B.I.R.D. on Twitter | Tha S.O.N.G.B.I.R.D. on ReverbNation

2 Comments on iSUPPORT: Theresa “Tha Songbird” Wilson [@theresathabird]

  1. I’ve EXPERIENCED Theresa ‘Tha Songbird’ in a few occasions & I must say I NEVER tire of her breath taking & deeply insightful performance!! If she is to be in ANY city I HIGHLY recommend EVERYone to allow her to bless your eyes, ears & mind & you too will become an instant believer!!!

    Like

  2. Reblogged this on theresathasongbird and commented:
    thank you to sister Tuesday for the AWESOME recap of one of my most memorable poetic family functions.

    Like

Leave a Reply

